How to deal with every day life with chiari

I have headaches everyday along with nausea and being tired. I get depressed when I can’t do the things I use too. Any suggestion on how to deal with it.

Crying a lot always makes me feel better. I know it sounds weird but I feel so bad and sorry for myself it is pitiful! Lol I want someone to understand but no one does. My husband is great, but tries to fix things, and headaches and depression is hard to just fix.
Lyrics, and Valium ( in very low doses) has helped the stress tight feeling in the neck that is where my headache starts.
I had severe depression after surgery, cried all the time. The dr told me it was normal and over the past few months it has gotten better! I am eight months post op. I went back to work after six weeks and sleep all most all the rest of the time I am off. I am a nurse working on my masters degree part time and work 12 hr shifts, 3 a week. Being around other people at work is good and keeps me busy and not focused on how much I hurt or not.
I hope this helps you. I try to stay positive and not focus on the pain and bad parts. It is nice to have this blog to vent on!!!

1 Like

My husband don’t understand the pain and why I hurt. There days it so bad I just want stop living but deep down I want keep fighting. My eight dogs keep me busy a lot too. I had the surgery done two years ago. It help some but it just came back worse. I get depressed when I can’t do the things I was did. Can’t get a job and having fight for disability. Just like today I sneeze and cough my head is hurting and feel like it going bust.

Robaxin 500mg 3x a day and mobic 15mg 1x in morning helps me a lot with the neck and head pain. I don't wake up with such bad pain as I did previously. For the nausea I take Zofran 4mg 1-3x a day. Valium 5mg at nite helps me with the sea sickness when lying down. You may want to consider going to a pain management doctor if other doctors give you a hard time giving you meds.