Diet and Chiari

I have a 22mm chiari malformation... just diagnosed last thursday (2/7/13)... I am an ER Nurse, I never thought of ever having "something wrong with me"

I guess I can say I am lucky I am only having one symptom that I know of and that is severe migraines...that are very random and no rhyme or reason to them most times. I have passed out 2 times in the past 2 years... something that has never happened to me before.. I seem to get lightheaded easily when going from laying to standing (of flipping my head back up from blow drying my hair) I can't say I have had much tingling or numbness or difficulty swallowing.. maybe some difficulty finding words but I truly haven't thought of it being a symptom.

AAANNYYYWAY... I understand that nothing will shrink my brain or make my skull grow to fit my lovely large brain other than surgery... but my question is diet... my best friend is wanting me to take a drastic change in my diet and try very organic, almost 100% plant based diet... only keeping some meat.... she states cleaning my diet will help me feel better and decrease inflammation... any health nuts out there who has tried this?

Mal