Depression immediately following decompression surgery

I am new to this sit. I was looking for a support group to find people that have gone through and are going through a Chiari Malformation. I had a posterior fossa decompression surgery on May 15th of this year, just 2.5 weeks ago. My surgeon at The Chiari Institute performed a more aggressive and invasive decompression procedure where he actually went into the spinal column and brain and cut the Cerebellar tonsils out to make the room instead of the traditional surgery. The incision is smaller (about 2-3 inches), the recovery time is supposed to be much shorter, and there are supposed to be less risk of complications. He has also had a higher percentage of patients with close to 100% of symptom relief (depending on the severity of symptoms and how long they had the symptoms). My questions are this: have any of you had the surgery and been extremely depressed and tearful after? I have read that tearfulness and depression are “normal” after major brain surgery but I am concerned this isn’t going to get better. I have been having the pressure pain still but just on the left side of my neck and head and worse. My surgeon had me go have a MRI of my brain and one of my c-spine to check it out. They received my scans on Friday but he had already gone for the weekend. He emailed me Sunday night and said he had received them and would look at them on Monday. I have not heard from him and I even emailed to see if he had looked yet, but no response. This of course is adding to my tearfulness. I’m worried something is wrong and then feel like nobody cares to even let me know. How do those of you that have had the surgery deal with the depression and crying spells? Or am I just weird? This has been a lot more difficult of recovery than I anticipated. I don’t want to be alone because I’m scared something might happen and I’ll be by myself. Any suggestions? Sorry this thread ended up longer than I intended.