I'm a fellow Chiarian and need some Chiari love! :-(

WARNING: The following is a long-winded pity party. Read at your own risk.

Hey fellow Chiarians! This is a hard subject for me to talk (well, type) about so please bear with me if I start talking (typing) in circles or my spelling starts going haywire.

Depression (as well as headaches...horrible. horrible. headaches) is nothing new to me. I've battled with it off and on since high school. I'm 32 now. My dad died one year after I graduated high school so of course, and understandably, my depression skyrocketed. I got pregnant out of wedlock in October 2001 and my daughter was born in July 2002. One would think my depression would have skyrocketed with a vengeance due to the added stress of being a single mom, working full time, going to nursing school, etc etc. However, it had the opposite effect. I felt great! I must not have had time to be depressed; well, no time to think and dwell on it seems more like it.

And here's where Chiari makes his grand appearance. Yay. Can't you feel the excitement in my words...

I was diagnosed with Chiari Malformation, type 2 in April 2010 after the left side of my body went completely numb. I fell due to the numbness and broke my left foot. Since I'm a nurse, the doctor I worked directly with got me straight in with a wonderful neurologist. The MRI showed type 2 Chiari Malformation (and chronic maxillary sinus disease). After a lengthy internal struggle within myself, weighing pros and cons, symptoms I can live with vs. symptoms I cannot, I made my decision. And within 2 weeks it was the big day. I honestly thought, after my surgery and after my recuperation, I was going to be a bigger and better version of myself - I was finally going to be pain-free and have my energy back. I mean heck, I had FINALLY found the reason for my smorgasbord of symptoms I had dealt with for so long and FINALLY put a name on it! I just wish the honeymoon had lasted.