Why is Occipital Neuralgia common in Chiarians? Anybody?

So, at my last NL appt I was finally given a clear cut dx for Occipital Neuralgia and am in the process of being authorized by insurance for Botox treatments. I never thought to aks WHY I have it. I know I may never get an answer, but I am someone who likes to know what everything is caused by. I worked in healthcare and for some reason, I have a need to know everything. It is almost an obsessive thing. I was just curious if anyone was ever given a reason as to why they have it. I had issues prior to surgery so I can't say for sure that I think it was caused by the surgery itself. I was always told that I had Trigeminal Neuralgia, so the ON is sort of a new dx for me and I don't quite understand it all yet. There isn't a whole lot of information online and personal experience is always more informative to me anyway. Thanks in advance. Hope everyone has a good day!

I don’t have an answer for you, but I’m curious as to what your symptoms are with ON?

Terrible pain in the back of my head, neck, shoulders and down my arms to my hands, migraines (which are really tension type headaches), ice pick stabbing pain in my left ear and left eye, stabbing pains in my head, tender/sore scalp, shooting pain/burning pain in my face, really tight neck muscles and constant spasms in all the affected muscles including my face. The pain is unimaginable and unbearable at times!

That sounds horrible. Since some of the symptoms are like Chiari symptoms, how do they differentiate between the two? Is there are specific test you had for that?

LOL, I am like you and want to know why and how and what...it really sucks when they don't have clear answers and solutions.

Hopefully someone here will have some personal experiences to share.

Wendy,