Symptoms in Waves?

So I am still fairly new to all of this only being diagnosed last August. When I was diagnosed my symptoms were pretty severe. Really bad headaches, neck pain, back pain, numbness, tingling, muscle weakness... I can go on. Once I went to the neurosurgeon, one who is listed on many chiari sites, I was put on a medication regimen to keep my symptoms under control to avoid surgery. He was on the fence with surgery for me. It may or may not do me good so he felt we should try to control things with meds before we resort to surgery. Things improved greatly. I was to the point that I felt normal and only had headaches once or twice a week. Over Christmas break I started to get more headaches and throughout January they continued to increase. By mid January they were daily and by the end of January the pain was increasing with them. I went to my neurosurgeon on February 3rd and he doubled my topomax that I take daily. I was taking 75mg topomax and fioricet as needed which ended up being 2 to 4 tabs a day. So he doubled the topomax to 150mg in hopes that I wouldn't need the fioricet as much. Well it's been almost 2 weeks. There is only a very slight decrease in the amount of headaches. I have had maybe 3 or 4 days that I haven't had to take fioricet. The new symptom is now the return of the neck pain, head pain and tingling on top of the headaches. This worries me.

So my question to those of you that have been in this for a while now is do symptoms come and go like this in waves year to year, months to months? I know this could also be a sign of things getting worse, right? Am I crazy to think that maybe I should get a new MRI to see where things are at? Am I being too paranoid? My last MRI was in October - no syrinx, no tethered cord, minimal CSF blockage, not sure but I think about 12-15mm herniation. Never got exact measurement.

Thanks for the support and for letting me get out my crazy thoughts and feelings.

Jenny

Jenny,