Just curious

I've only been on this site for a few days. I had my decompression surgery on August 7, I am just over 3 weeks post op. Surgery went very well. They did the craniectomy, laminectomy, and duraplasty. They do think that I had a small leak that I was put on bedrest for last weekend, but it seems to have healed itself. I saw the surgeon on Tuesday and he was thrilled with how well I was doing (and so was I). He increased my weight lifting restriction to 10-15 lbs, dropped the driving restriction and I am allowed to do activity as tolerated. I am a pediatric nurse and the plan is for me to go back to work on September 24 (I have been off for 7 months after I had shoulder surgery in February which started all of this).

Yesterday I felt amazing! I have two dogs. I decided to take the older one to the dog park in the morning, felt great. I came home and took a 3 hour nap. Then in the afternoon I took my 1.5 year old pup to the park. Still felt good, but tired. Then last night and today I have had a huge increase in my neck pain/stiffness and headaches. I didn't feel like I was overdoing it at the time. How long does it take for these awesome days and horrible days to even out? It doesn't seem that I have many days that are in the middle. I was able to get myself off of narcotics last week and now am taking tylenol, advil and muscle relaxers (which I am working on weaning). I am not very patient and want to be better NOW!