Is this "normal" in the Chiari World?

Hello everyone, I'm new to this and glad to have found this site. I now know I've had mild symptoms of Chiari (shoulder/back pain, splitting headaches when I coughed) for quite some time which I ignored. The last week of Sept, I experience tingling throughout my entire right side of the body. PCP sent me for an MRI and NL who diagnosed me - 12mm with small syrinx. I'm currently on Neurotin and seeing a Neurosurgeon on 12/5.

Since the last week of September, things have progressed with dizzyness, numbness, tingling, bad neck, shoulder and neck pain, dull aches in arms and legs and some fatigue. From what I have read, these seem to be mild compare to some people, however, I am a little scare of how quickly this came on after the first tingling episode the last week of September. I"m stressing because it's seems like everyday it's something new and my next appointment is weeks away.

Is this normal to have all these happen in such a short amount of time????

Wow! Your symptoms are very similar to what I was going through. No one experiences the exact same thing...everyone is different...but what you are describing sounds like most of the people I have met with Chiari. I had terrible headaches every time I laughed, coughed, sneezed...etc. Sometimes I would experience muscle spasms on my face and my jaw would lock up. And then that was accompanied by my throat closing. Let me tell ya, choking on laffy taffy in a work related meeting is no fun...lol.

When I was diagnosed, I had a 9mm herniation and a small syrinx. I found a neurosurgeon at the Presbyterian Hospital (UPMC) and had surgery August 16th. It was THE BEST decision I could have made. I feel amazing and am getting back to my life. I still experience some tingling on my face, but it is not as bad as it was before the surgery..and is getting better as I heal. I am back to work full time (I am a Resident Coordinator for a college) and am back to exercising 3xs a week.