Has anyone had the decompression surgery and returned to work?

I'm three months out and unsure of a time table or realistic expectations...

I had PFD surgery Sept 20, 2011 and returned back to work part-time on Oct. 24, 2011 then full-time Nov 7, 2011.

Time out really varies from person to person.

Diana

Hi Seabrookes,

I was unable to return to work, but had an extensive CM situation. Everyone recovers differently. Please don't be hard on yourself. I know this is a serious situation for everyone. I tried to go back part time ...just a couple of hours a couple of days a week. Maybe you could try something like that. You could possibly build your hours back to normal. Please let us know how you are doing.

Tracy z.

I had surgery Oct 24, 2011. My surgeon told me i'd be back at work in 4 weeks (At the time I was a Meat Dept Manager and meat cutter at a Grocery Store) I was NO WHERE NEAR READY @ 4 weeks in fact it was 13 weeks before I could go back and then it was for only 4 hrs/day it took me almost 2 months to work up to 8 hrs a day. I am no longer managing the Dept just cutting as the extra stress and hours required in management is more than I can do! I also Pastor a Church here in New Orleans.

I have been working 6 days a week the last few weeks and it is really taking its toll on me,it is too much but its helping me catch up on some of the fin aces i missed while I was off of work.

Like Tracy said see if you can work a few hours at first, it really does take time to rebuild your strength! don't push yourself too hard!!

Thank you all so much for your responses! I found it encouraging and helpful! I think you are all brave and strong! Tracy z. & Kenny Who-dat Flaming - I appreciate you being so candid about your journey. It means so much that there is so much support here.