Dazed and More than a Little Lost

So I am really new to this whole thing, the chiari diagnosis, support groups, everything. But no one I know seems to really understand what I'm going through and a good friend of mine who's dealing with Crohns told me her support group was amazingly helpful to her emotionally as well as informatively. So I'm going to try this out

I was diagnosed with Chiari type 1 about a month ago, and saw a great (or so I thought) neurologist. Because the MRI he used for the diagnosis was several years old and he wanted to check the flow of spinal fluid he ordered a new MRI which I had done last week. I evidently reacted badly to the contrast because I had the worst headache of my life, missing 2.5 days of my kids lives and getting back to back trips to the ER where they told me it was a severe migraine and that my Chiari "just wasn't bad enough to cause this reaction." I saw the MRI today at my NS appointment and it really isn't that severe, but that's the only info I could get from my NS. When I asked how bad it is he just pointed at the screen and said "well, this is where this should be, but I've had some patients who had the tonsils pulled way down here." And then he told me he's reffering me to a neurologist for pain management because that's my biggest complaint, but until then I should make do with OTC's and if I end up back in the ER to make sure they do another MRI.