The weird way I found out I had Chiari

I wanted to share this, not because I want to spread spirituality to everyone...In my case though, I really think I was being watched over and taken care of in this long battle. I hope this gives some people hope, and those that do believe in a higher power, I hope it lets you know that we are not alone through this trial.

Last semester in my clinical neuropsychology class, I was assigned a topic to give a presentation on at the end of the semester. This presentation was going to count for a third of our grade. The topic I was given, was one I had never heard of before...it was Chiari Malformation. I started studying the topic in March of this year. I learned everything I possibly could....all the while I was experiencing severe symptoms that were Chiari related. The funny thing though, was I never thought that I could have this issue. I always thought that my symptoms were hormone related, even though they continued to get worse as the year went on. I did my presentation on April 17th of this year (got 97/100)!

When I finished the semester I went to my PCP and talked with him about my migraines and other problems. He put me on topomax and Imatrex, but as I was leaving his office, he asked if I wanted a CT scan to rule out any other possible issues. I said that might be a good idea. (I really just wanted to see what my brain looked liked.) The next day, he called and said it looked as if I had a disorder called Chiari Malformation. He asked if I had ever heard of it before. I told him I had, and could probably educate him on a few things. I then had two MRI's (they found a syrnix.) This happened on May 15th. I had an appointment with my neurosurgeon on June 11th, and had decompression on June 22nd.

I still struggle with some headaches and neck problems, but I am getting stronger every day.