Sad and confused today

I am not new to being sick. It has been eighteen years of ups and downs. What I am new to is the idea of a diagnosis. In the past, I have always pushed until I could hardly function, believing that without an explanation, I had no right to rest.

With the hope of getting my diagnosis on paper right around the corner, and the fact that I simply am so sick that I rarely can push at all, I guess I have been a little more gentle with myself.

I said no to a friend during a very bad spell a couple of months ago and now we are not friends. I just don't understand this and it is painful. Mostly, I feel sad for my wife, who got the "break up" email last night. She is such a trooper, supportive and loving, always giving her most. She works with medically fragile children and comes home to a sick husband every day. Although we have had to give up most of the activities that we enjoyed doing together, I have never heard her complain about her life. She simply finds some new thing - even if it is just watching TV or reading beside me when I'm ill.

I simply don't understand not giving people the benefit of the doubt, even more so when they are sick. I do what I can and that is the best I can do. I know I am an adult and should be able to handle it but it feels like my fault. In a way, it shows me my friend's true side but, sometimes I wish I could pretend like other people do.

What do other members do to feel better when these things happen?