Roller coasters

Our son had his decompression surgery in August, 2010 and is doing well now. His neurosurgeon and neurologist both have told us that roller coaster rides/amusement park rides are ok for him, but I've read many other places online that these are no-no's, even after surgery, for those with Chiari I. Our son is wanting to ride the coasters, but I am torn as to whether this is advisable or might cause him some problems. Any advice or feedback appreciated!

Hi...

I am surprised that both docs gave the OK for roller coaster rides....My NS told me that he highly advised against such rides and anything that would jerk my head and neck around.

Being the person I am...I went against this input...For me, it was a bad thing..for I suffered for weeks after going on Super Man with my daughter..What I do for love!!!!

I am giving my personal experience...I am not a doctor...However, it was not a good experience for me and I should have listened to what my NS had told me.

Sorry to give you negative input on this...I know, as a mom, myself, that we want our kids to have fun, be a kid...ect/ but , in my opinion,,,the pain is not worth the ride.

Take Care,,,

I wouldn't risk it. Roller coasters are basically the only thing my NS restricted me from post-surgery. He said they were a definite no-no. In addition I know of a girl who disregarded the advice of her NS and ended up having symptoms reoccur so that further scares me off. I know there are people who ride things post-op and do fine with it but I can't take that chance. I'm finally able to lead a nearly normal life and as fun as roller coasters are it's just not worth it.