Medical ID Bracelets?

How many people wear medical ID bracelets? Just curious...

I'm glad you asked this question.... I was wondering this also. I don't where one...but I thought it. Because of the meds.

I got one for my daughter that she wears. It is a necklace one. It say Chiari malformation,c1-vertebrae removed,short board removal. Just in case anything happends then the emts and Dr would have some where to start. If you do get one I highley reccomend you put short board removal on it. So if you have to be put on a board the emt know which one to use. As a emt I always look for medical ID bracelets or necklace.

Susan

1 Like

Susan J there is no abberviation for asthma or allergies. I would put ligated VP Shunt,in a emergency I does not matter to me what side it is on. No one in the medical field will know what CM stands for, unless they have it or know someone that does. So I would put chiari malfromation. You can put MH most people know what that is,if they do not they will look it up. Most people if they see VP Shunt then they assume its because of hydrocephelus. As for allergies how many do you have? Which ones are the most severe? Because just putting allergies does not help unless you put what allergies. I got my daughters at a medical store by my housse. It did not cost that much.

Susan

1 Like

No its not a dumb question. A short board is what we would use to remove you from the vehicle if you were in a wreck. You can use a long board or a short board. I think a short board is better for people with CM. I also put no hyperflexion on my daughter necklace.

Susan

Susan J said:

Dumb question...what is short board removal. Are you refering to the piece of skull removed at the back of the head????

Susan said: