Just Diagnosed...Surgery in Six Days

Earlier today I was diagnosed with a Syrnix caused by a 15mm Chiari Malformation, I have already begun experiencing nerve damage, as I lost the feeling in my right hand, which is why my NS wants to perform the surgery quickly. My neurosurgeon has apparently done a lot of decompression surgeries and feels very confident about the procedure. I, on the other hand, am not as confident. It didn't help that I googled the surgery and the possible risks this afternoon. Not a good idea, don't do it unless you want to worry yourself. Anyway, this is my first time having any type of surgery, and I'm beyond scared. I don't know what to expect, and this is uprooting my life in an unavoidable way. I'm a sophomore in college, and I will be missing at least a month of school, this entire situation is extremely stressful, and the worst part is that I have no idea what to expect or how worried I should be, or how truly serious this is. Can someone please tell me how they got through the pre-operation stress and worry? I feel like I'm just sitting around, and waiting is the worst, as I can thoroughly go through all of the possible negative outcomes. Help!

I haven’t had the surgery yet and im 3 years post diagnosis. I wanted to tell you good luck and hopefully you have a good recovery. You are in my prayers.

Best wishes for your surgery, Madison! Many members here have had decompression surgery, as well as some of our moderators. I hope you come through with flying colors.