Is it safe to play the waiting game?

Hi all!

I'm new here, and have technically been diagnosed with Chiari for several years now, but didn't start having symptoms that significantly impacted my life until recently. I’m currently in the process of seeing a NL and NS. Because I’m a researcher and thinker I’m already trying to find a lot of information on the great surgery debate because I want to be prepared to discuss things earlier rather than later. My general thoughts on the surgery issue is that it seems like many of the cases that are unsuccessful at seeing significant symptom reduction are so because they either have other complicating factors or the damage was already done (or perhaps both). Obviously this surgery is a ginormous deal and is in no way something I just want to jump into, but from what I know now, it seems like doing surgery sooner rather than later might be a good choice.

Does anyone know if there is any information out there about how often symptoms progress for people? Looking back, I can certainly say I’ve had some symptoms as a teenager (I’m 23 now) and it has definitely been getting worse and occurring more frequently (I’m experiencing the ebb and flow bit with most of my issues). So, while things are manageable now and I wouldn’t say hey I can’t handle this, I need surgery, I don’t want to wait around and then get to the point where I DO need surgery and then have it not be effective because I’ve done permanent damage. Any one else gone through this thought process??

Plus, through the end of the year my family has met their catastrophic so everything would be completely FREE. On the downside, my hubby and I just moved to CA and all of my family is in GA and I really don’t know that I could do it without them….

Katie,

I've definitely been through that thought process!

I am so sorry you have to deal with this with your family so far away.