Introduction and Concerns

Hello All! This is my first time using this website so I am happy to say hi for the first time. :grinning:

I am a 23 years old with a Chiari Malformation 1 that is 13mm, no syrinx / syringomyelia, my cine MRI reports say there is reduced CSF flow at anterior and posterior foramen magnum suggesting a partial blockage.

I currently am having the following symptoms that were confirmed to be from chiari by a neurosurgeon: head pain when straining, dizziness and occasional pain when bending over or getting up.

Unconfirmed from Chiari: anxiety, nightmares, sleep paralysis, migraines, occasional shooting pains in limbs, stiff neck, severe tinnitus that comes and goes, random hearing loss, pressure in ears, tingling and crawling on scalp, joints that crack frequently especially in neck, jaw, wrists, feet.

I currently have a ton of referrals to try and work with all of these symptoms and find out if there are other causes before deciding on having surgery, which I was offered.

When I left the neurosurgeon I felt discouraged that there were not a lot of answers as to what is actually being caused by the CM1, or what symptoms would improve or go away with or without surgery. There was also no way to know if the CSF fluid was causing symptoms or would eventually lead to a syrinx.

I also wanted to say thanks for all of your help, every time you post I learn more.

3 Likes

@HelloThere26 Hello! Obviously anecdotal, but I can confirm that I have all of those issues too! I was just diagnosed at 35 but I realize now that I have had these weird symptoms for years. I have decided to have surgery. I would like to feel more normal, especially for my family.

I literally had the exact same experience with a neurosurgeon appointment yesterday. I have all those same symptoms, she only said Chiari would cause maybe 2 or 3 out of my extremely long list.

1 Like