I’m a newbie

Hi. I’m a newbie. After 4 months with the most excruciating headache, dizzy spells, nausea and vomiting, I finally went to my doc. I blamed it all on a dodgy disc and my doc sent me for X-ray, MRI and Ortho assessment. The X-ray and MRI were done within a fortnight (:scream:) and I got a phone call from my doc to say i had Chiari. I’d never heard of this before. I’m now booked in for a full brain and spinal MRI in two weeks. I’ve had neck pain all my life but these headaches and difficulty swallowing, vertigo etc have arrived over the last few years. My short term memory is awful. Should I be worried? Currently in denial. Not told my family, I will when I have the full picture. For now though I’m Chiari Type 1.

Do I need to tell my car insurance?? I’ve read I need to tell the DVLA but am waiting until I have all my results before that.

Hey Jassy,
I’d be talking to my dr before going anywhere near both of these questions regarding both DVLA and your insurance company. I’m unsure of the law in Ireland but here in Australia you must have a level of insurance to even be on the road and you can be pretty sure if the insurer considers you to be ANY risk they will remove your insurance instantly and pretty much the same thing with DVLA. Any concerns and the will void your licence on the spot.
Your self denial is normal. It can all come as a bit of a shock. Searching the net is often what some people do but this is not always a good way to look for medical information, as there can be a few questions regarding relevancy to your specific situation, so again you really need to speak to your dr after having the scans etc. The scans and the radiologists report will give your dr a bit of a clearer idea.
Please do keep us informed on how it all goes and remember we are here if you need to chat.

Merl from the Moderator Support Team