Employment with Chiari

I was wondering how many people are unable to work due to their symptoms? Does anyone have a legit work from home job?

I had to stop working about 2 months ago. Not sure when I can go back...waiting on tests and a 2nd and 3rd opinion from neurosurgeons about surgery. I stood for long periods of time and overall had a pretty physical job which is why I had to stop. Applying for a new job doesn't seem to be working out since I have dr appointments all the time and most of all, have a tough time walking. Who is going to hire me??

The medical bills and normal life stuff keep coming! Any advice on what the rest of you do as far as work/money/medical bills would be appreciated!

I am 19 and had to quit my job because of my chiari. Granted, I worked as an animal shelter kennel tech and it was a very physically demanding job. I am really, really hoping that I will be able to go back once I've recovered enough from decompression surgery, I've already noticed that my fatigue and some other symptoms are better. I know there are a lot of people here that have Chiari and do still work, but there are a lot that don't. I even had to put school on hold because of the memory loss, thankfully I was able to put my scholarships on hold while I tried to figure out what was wrong. Hoping to go back in the Spring. Wishing you the best of luck in your chiari journey.

Bmtiz92 - thanks for responding :) good luck to you with school, work, and your recovery!

Emmaline - good to hear from you :) I stopped working on my own. It got to the point where I felt like I was having a stroke every night at work. Is there another way to apply?? If so, through who? I'm glad to hear you feel better!

Thank you for the information Emmaline!!!

I agree with what Emmaline said and I would add that all of us are very different with the outcomes as we are with the symptoms.