Decompression surgery

Hello everyone! It has only been 4 months that this chiari malformation has given me trouble and I cannot imagine how some of you have dealt with your pain for so long! Leg and arms experiencing pins and needles, extreme leg pain, and headaches becoming much more severe than years prior. I was blessed to find my neurosurgeon so quickly and fully trust his work and compassion.I am scheduled for decompression surgery march 20, however I am terrified!! Can someone please give me some peace of mind and educate me on what to expect my first few days after, did symptoms resolve?!Also how quickly did you feel like you could safely return to work. I am a corrections officer in a prison and wonder how soon I can safely return to work without worry of injury to my head. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Hailey, I understand how you feel. I was diagnosed last week and today I just want to cry my head hurts so much. I am already considering the surgery as long as my doctor feels I am a good candidate. I look forward to hearing about your results. I will know more on the 10th once I see the NeurSurgeon.

Rebecca thank you for the input. I am very worried about how much time it will take to heal, symptoms to go away and if I can safely return to work. I have researched so many stories of each healing process and they differ so much person to person! Also I have enormous respect for your husband working with juveniles! Adult prisoners are bad enough, I wouldn't last a day with kids!!

Rebecca said:

Hi Hailey,