Syrnix

can someone explain or give reference location to how a syrnix effects cm. I was told I have a syrnix that is growing in length but not width. It is located in my cord and the NS says it can not be removed without causing more damage.

Hi Michael,

1st off I must say that I only have CM...no syrinx...so I have no 1st hand experience. However, from what I have read ..If a person has Chiari as well as a syrinx...there is a good chance that the syrinx may shrink on its own once decompression is done...a person with both CM and SM would most likely benefit from surgery...given that most syrinx are caused from the goofed up spinal fluid flow...

I must share my nieces' recent success with this...She is an MRI tech..her hospital had just gotten a new MRI machine and she volunteered to test drive it..LOL

Well..thank God she did...the MRI showed a Chiari Malformation along with a huge syrinx on her upper cervical spine.

She had surgery this past Sept and is doing great...follow up MRI shows that the syrinx is shrinking......she went back to work about 8 weeks post op and is still feeling good.

Keep us updated on YOU!!!!

Peace,

Lori

My syrinx has shrunk a pretty decent amount since 2003 when I had decompression. My NS was amazed at how much. I was told that actually going in to remove the syrinx isn't necessary unless it is causing complications where it becomes necessary. They would do a shunt for this. Causing more damage...I'm not sure of that. It is a very sensitive area in general so it's hard to say.

Lori,