Newly dx Chiari

Hi everyone I’m new to the support group. I’m 30 years old and was recently diagnosed with a 9mm herniation. Fortunately I had an MRI of the brain a couple years ago that did not show a Chiari malformation so mine would be classified as acquired I guess. Still bouncing around like a pin ball trying to find a qualified NL and NS that knows more about Chiari than I do (it’s sad when a doctor knows less about your condition than you) anyway just wondering if there’s anyone out there with an acquired Chiari and how you got it.

Hello, I’m glad you found this site, it will be very helpful to you. How do you think you got the herniation? Swelling of the brain from a virus or concussion, whiplash from an accident, or something else? I read that many people discover their Chairi after whiplash or a car accident. I have had whiplash twice in the last 4 years. I have had symptoms since a child, but they become severe at about age 30. And worse after being rear ended. Tina from WI

Hello Tina to answer your question I work in a physically demanding field and am fairly certain that this was acquired through work. I have been searching the internet and have yet to come across any articles or fellow Chiarians that share this same experience. I truly feel alone for the time being but hopefully I can bring forward others who have had clear MRI’s in the past and now suddenly are diagnosed with Chiari.

Hi and welcome. I was diagnosed almost 3 yrs ago after I fell and knocked myself out on the Television cabinet. A CT scan identified Chiari 16mm which was not identified 10 yrs prior on a CT (I can’t have MRI scans). I’ve not been able to find a huge amount of information on acquired Chiari. I’ve asked Drs however they are a bit none committal. They have said maybe the Chiari was present prior but the initial CT scan didn’t quite show the area and impact of the fall has forced the brain further.