Mri

Looking for opinions on my scan - does everyone think this looks like chiari???

490-photo21.JPG (1.74 MB)

I dont see an image

Hmm, I can see the attachment on my end. ???

I haven't had my appointment yet. I'm actually an MR tech and we found this during a test scan. I've had headaches and neck pain for 2 years.....so this might explain it. I went to a neurologist a year ago and was told my pain was muscle related so I've been ignoring my symptoms. I see the dr. again in about a week.

you definately have some herniation but it looks like there is plenty of fluid there. You also seem to have a slight cervical stenosis at c5 posteriorly and cervical lordosis ... combined they could be altering the CSF flow. I would get a disk of the MR to take to the appointment and have the neurologist look at the parasaggital and coronal slides of the tonsils to check for asymmetry ... check out this lecture entitled "Chiari Malformation: A Name Which Leads to Unnecessary Confusion" at this link. By his standards, you would definately have "Hindbrain Herniation" http://www.csfinfo.org/node/307 good luck

Thank you for your input. What do you mean by "there is plenty of fluid there"? You mean I have herniation but there's no fluid restriction?