Genetic research for Chiari? Perhaps a possibility

Hello, I'm going to start this out with a disclaimer. I only have a bachelor's degree, and I am in no way, shape or form a medical professional. I'm just an overzealous journalist who has Chiari. Also, don't read this if your brain is foggy today. There's a lot of technical mumbo-jumbo.

A news story from the AP today caught my attention - it was about using genetic testing to diagnose children with neurological problems and adults who have strange symptoms. Sounds like it should be all about Chiari, right? It wasn't though, and it lead me on a hunt for gene research in Chiari.

I'm a giant nerd, and I had to share this with people who might care.

1. This interview caught my attention: Interview link

Basically, it's a genetic researcher who thinks it's possible that a test could be developed to check genetic structure for deficits that could indicate Chiari. Here's one reason why:

2. One possibility

This writer cites medical journals where researchers have found that genetic variances on chromosomes 9 & 14 could lead to hereditary Chiari-like symptoms, such as a decreased Posterior Fossa volume (AKA: No room for your brain in the back). Researchers took this information and found that the variances in a protein called fibrillin 1, or FBN1 may cause this.

3. Another government page indicates a FBN1 deficit may cause three genetic conditions which involve misshaped skulls.

Some of these genetic conditions involve Marfan syndrome, Weill-Marchesani syndrome, ectopia lentis, stiff skin syndrome, acromicric dysplasia, MASS syndrome, and Shprintzen-Goldberg syndrome.

According to the Marfan Foundation, related disorders include Loeys-Dietz syndrome, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, and Familial Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm and Dissection.