Continuing college?

Hey everyone. For those of you who have had your surgery already - how did you feel mentally and cognitively in the first 3-6 weeks after your surgery?

I am a full time college student (online only) as well as full time employee. I don't want to withdraw just yet for medical issues - I am having hopes my cognitive and mental capacities will be ok to continue (they currently are NOT sharp right now, so college is a bit on hold). In order to not get all Fs on my transcript, I would have to withdraw officially, but that's not something I want to do since there are only a few weeks left and I have worked so hard to get to this point. I don't want to lose all that work and have to start over.

But, with that said, I have to make a decision as to withdrawing to not mess up my GPA or continuing on with my extension and hoping to finish off the semester properly.

So, again, were you able to read and concentrate enough a couple of weeks after your surgery that you could have done class assignments from your desk at home?

Thanks! (This is another one of the seriously important decisions I have to make within the next 12 days.)

Leslie

Leslie,

I've been in College Administration for a number of yrs. I hope I can give a little advice from both the patient side as well as the college admin side.

I was diagnosed with Chiari about 3 months ago. It started with the horrible headaches and I also had other cognitive issues (I have very few "serious" symptoms before that) I had decompression surgery on Oct 24.

I have given up EVERY possible responsibility except pastoring my local church but they have been extremely supportive of means family during this time.

If i can give you any advice, I would withdraw as soon as you can without hurting your GPA, you are going to go through a lot of life changes and studying is the last thing you are you are going to want to do! and if you