Chiari Social Questions

So, I'm new to the Chiari world and learning how to deal with it's symptoms. The thing I'm currently confused and troubled by is who to tell about my condition and how often I'm "allowed" to talk about it. I've always been the strong and silent type (aka suffer quietly), so talking about what's bothering me goes against everything I've done. But Chiari is playing a bigger and bigger role in my life, and handling it quietly is getting harder. How many people should I allow to know about this? How much should I talk about it when I'm having a bad day?

If you could go back before you told everyone, what would you differently? Would you keep quiet? Or would you let everyone special or everyone you're involved with know?

I would greatly appreciate your help--I'm so confused!

Hello! I can relate to your post. When I was first dx I wanted to tell the world! For once in my life I was not “crazy”…for years I would hear the phrase “its all in your mind”…now to have a actual reasons for the dizzyness…all of a sudden black outs…etc…I think I was more in shock the first day…I told a few friends who made me more nervous…we researched for days! Drove me crazy with all the findings! So I say …tell everyone whom you feel will comfort you…trust me you will neeed the support! I’m new to this also…you can talk to me! :slight_smile: