Chiari patient, newly diagnosed with EDS, type 4

Hello all,

I was diagnosed with a Chiari back in Dec. 2010 (7 mm); a new MRI on Jan. 2014 revealed that my cerebellar tonsils descended to 13.7 mm. I also have a huge cyst on my brain. Last week I was diagnosed with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Type 4. The doctors sent me to the cardiologist to have some more tests done because I’ve been having palpitations since long time ago, but they gave me the appointment and follow-up until January of next year. Should I wait that long? I’m totally new to EDS. I have read very little about it. I don’t have medical insurance in the US so that’s why I’m having my appointments in a very good hospital with excelent doctors but the “waiting list” is extremely long. I will be waiting for my decompression surgery eventually too. But I need to Know if it’s ok to wait and how long should be reasonable to wait…

Hi Abby,

Thank you very much for the information! It is very useful!

Lourdes

Abby said:

You can have your GP ask for a tilt table test. Many of us Chiarians with EDS, have dysautonomia. Please read about it below. I suspect with you having Chiari and EDS, you also have dysautonomia with those heart palpitations. There are medications that make you feel better. Go to DINET.org and look at the symptoms and treatments.

Keep in touch and let us know.

Do you experience any of these symptoms:

Severe headache and neck pain

dizziness

lightheadedness

nausea and/or vomiting

vertigo

palpitations

difficulty swallowing

visual disturbances

ringing in the ears

sleep apnea

impaired fine motor skills

and/or muscle weakness?

If you do, please continue reading.

You may have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome and the resulting cranial settling.